Bulgaria and Romania join Schengen

Bulgaria and Romania became members of the Schengen area on 31 March, 2024.  The Schengen rules now apply in both EU Member States, including the issuing of Schengen visas and the lifting of controls at the internal air and sea borders.

President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen said:“I welcome the lifting of internal air and sea border checks. This is a great success for both countries.  And a historic moment for the Schengen area – the largest area of free movement in the world. Together, we are building a stronger, more united Europe for all our citizens.”

The Schengen area started as an intergovernmental project between five Member States in 1985 – Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. It is now the largest area of free movement in the world.

Photo: Ursula von der Leyen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.